Philippine Bahá’í Community

The Bahá’í Calendar and Holy Days

The Bahá’í calendar, also referred to as Badi calendar is consists of 19 months of 19 days. All months are named after the attributes of God, as well as each of the days. The remaining 4 days, or 5 days in a leap year are marked as Intercalary Days or Ayyam-i-Ha. These days are devoted to good cheer, hospitality and giving—in preparation to the 19 days of Fasting before the Bahá’í new year or Naw-ruz.

Work is suspended on the following Bahá’í holy days, except for the Day of the Covenant and the Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá.

Naw Rúz, the Bahá’í New Year
March 20

First Day or Ridván. The Ridvan Festival is referred to as the King of Festivals. It is when Bahá’u’lláh declared that He is a Manifestation of God, the Promised One.
April 20

Ninth Day of Ridván.
April 28

Twelfth Day of Ridván
May 1

Declaration of the Báb. It is the day on which the Báb proclaimed to Mullah Husayn that He is the Promised Qa’im.
May 23

Ascension of Bahá’u’lláh
May 28

Martyrdom of the Báb
July 9

Birth of the Báb
October 21

Birth of Bahá’u’lláh
October 22

Day of the Covenant
November 25

Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Bahá
November 27